What are Care Levels?

When evaluating the need for an in-law suite or cottage you will need to determine the type of support that the resident will require. Because cost is a factor for most prospective customers it is important to determine the current needs as well as the short and long term progression of care that will be required.

Daily Living Activities

Our FACS housing is offered at three Care Levels that are not progressive, but rather compartmentalized.  The Care Levels are designed to support a specific spectrum of needs unique to a resident.

As starting point for selecting a Care Level for long term care it is required to review the supports needed to meet personal care needs. In many instances, long term care is no medical care but rather assistance with the basic tasks of every life. These are typically called Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) which include:


  • Using the toilet

  • Transferring (to or from bed or chair)

  • Caring for incontinence

  • Dressing

  • Grooming

  • Eating

Everyday Tasks

In many cases, support is needed for additional assistance with everyday tasks, sometimes called Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLs). These include:

  • Housework

  • Managing money

  • Taking medication

  • Preparing and cleaning up after meals

  • Shopping for groceries or clothes

  • Using the telephone or other communication devices

  • Caring for pets

  • Responding to emergency alerts such as fire alarms

Why are Care Levels Important?

Levels of care help Better Living Express to provide specific features and capabilities in a housing product line so that costs can more effectively be managed and at the same time provide the highest level of support for the resident. By identifying the specific need up front, the resident will know what features are needed and be better able to make decisions on features and costs up front thereby reducing the risk of unexpected costs for adding features in the future.